30 Day Challenge for Transpeople – Day 26

26) Do you feel comfortable answering questions about being trans if say a teacher/friend/stranger asked you?

As long as they are asked respectfully, I don’t mind questions. I haven’t had a lot of teachers ask me question aside from the LGBT Club advisor at the community college I go to. And she is very respectful. She asked me to be a guest speaker at her human sexuality class this semester so I imagine I will be answering a lot of questions when I do that. Wish me luck.

I’ve had lots of friends ask me questions. The first question I usually get is “So do you like guys or girls?” And I don’t feel comfortable answering that because I haven’t quite worked that out for myself yet. Either I’m asexual or I haven’t met the right person yet because I’m not really strongly attracted to anyone further than “Hey that person looks awesome. I want to get to know them better.” And also its uncomfortable because I don’t know why THEY need to know. I understand curiosity but why is that the very first question they ask?

I have had strangers ask me questions. Usually friends of friends that I was just introduced to as “James, the transgender”. Sometimes the questions are really disrespectful and they only ask to be assholes. In that case I am uncomfortable and offended. But sometimes they ask genuine questions and are respectful for the most part, and then I don’t mind that even if it is a little uncomfortable. The most interesting questions from strangers are when the person is like super curious and fascinated. My friend introduced me to someone once and I spent about an hour just fielding questions from her. She wanted to know how I knew I was trans, if I like girls or guys, if I masturbate, what kind of surgeries I want, about the effects of testosterone. Everything. And it was a bit uncomfortable, but she was just one of those extremely bold people so it was funny too.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clare Flourish
    Jan 26, 2012 @ 17:21:48

    I think the problem with questions is our terrible desire to fit in. So we may not have good solid boundaries, and may answer questions which we later realise were too intrusive.

    Reply

    • James
      Jan 26, 2012 @ 20:54:58

      True. I’ve heard many transpeople say that they’ve done that and I have done it myself as well.

      Some people think it’s okay to ask transgender people questions that they would never ask a cisgender person.

      Reply

Leave a comment