Surgery with Dr. McGinn

Well it finally happened. I’ve been wanting this for years. June 14, 2016 I finally had top-surgery with Dr. Christinne McGinn from the Papillon Center. And I promised to share the experience.
The surgery was performed in Lower Bucks hospital. The morning before, the hospital called me to tell me when to come in: 6 am! I’m about a 3 hour drive away so we left at 2:30 am just to make sure we made it. We got to the hospital an hour early actually, before the main lobby even opened. So we waited in the ER lobby next door until we could check in at the main lobby, which, by the way, had a beautiful local artist gallery.

20160614_055442

Main lobby: my boyfriend on the left and my friend on the right.

20160614_055809

I noticed this magazine on the table I was sitting at. Thought it was ironic because my birth name was Kelly.

20160614_055541

My mom started falling asleep on my shoulder while we waited.

Before surgery, we paid the hospital fees, I got blood work done, gave a urine sample, showed them my ID and we confirmed my information. I was constantly confirming my name and birthday and being asked questions about my health. I changed into a gown, robe, and long socks in a private room, where they left me to wait with a TV. All my stuff was put in a bag and locked in a cabinet in that room. Took about a half hour to 45 minutes to wait. It was at this point where it finally hit me that this was actually happening. I don’t know why it took so long for that to sink in. I guess I’ve just been waiting for this for so long it just seemed surreal. Thankfully my family was able to stay in that room with me right up until I was taken from there to the surgery prep room.

It was a long room full of other hospital beds and some other people waiting for operations. There I was asked more questions. They read off and had me sign consent forms. I was given an IV then, which is totally my favorite part… not. But Dr. McGinn was there at that point. She rubbed my feet and talked to me while the IV was being put in. She was awesome. Despite the fact that I give myself a muscular injection twice a month, needles in my veins bother me A LOT, so I was getting very nervous at that point. I’m grateful that she helped distract me.

Then they rolled me out to the operating room. “7:30!” someone shouted.

Seconds after they put the oxygen mask on me, I was out.

I woke up groaning and dizzy back in the surgery prep room. I think it was about 4 hours later. They gave me dilaudid, which was pretty strong stuff. I couldn’t lift my head or speak. I was feeling pretty sore too. I experienced some nausea, so I was given Zofran which helped immediately.
Then I went back to my private room, where my family was allowed to see me, though only 2 at a time. I got my prescriptions; vicodin for pain, and an anti-biotic. I got changed back into the clothes I came in wearing, and I did make sure to wear loose clothes: boxer shorts under comfy cloth shorts, slippers, and a soft buttoned shirt that was easy to put on with drains hanging out of me.
The drains are easy to empty too, and I have to measure and record how much comes out.
We got to leave the hospital around 1 pm, and we got into our hotel room before the check in time. I slept mostly. I think we all did. No one got much sleep the night before because of having to leave at 2:30 in the morning. I am able to eat food as I normally do, but I’m having trouble going to the bathroom. Pain meds make you constipated and I guess anesthesia makes it difficult to pee. So I take medicine for that too now. So I’m on anti-biotics, vicodin, going-to-the-bathroom medicines, and vitamins.
I’m pretty uncomfortable. The chest pain lessens and worsens at different times, but it’s the drains that hurt the most. It’s a pinching pain. The vicodin helps a lot, but the bandages around my chest are a constant irritation. It’s tight and a bit heavy, leaves a big bump on my chest.

But I’m trying not to complain too much. This surgery is gonna change my life, and I’ve been dreaming of this for years. And also, I’m just glad I can eat again. I went around 12 hours without eating, and being hungry makes me miserable and angry.

20160614_194236

We ordered pizza from a place called “Anthony’s”. It was recommended by an employee at the Quality Inn, where we were staying. It’s very close to the hospital so thankfully it was a short ride after I got out. That’s my little sister on the left and you can see my boyfriend’s hands on the right.

We only stayed the night, though it’s recommended that you stay until the first follow up appointment. Mine isn’t until Monday though, six days after my surgery and I can’t stay in a packed hotel that long, so I’m home now.
I’m glad we don’t have to come back to the hospital. The drive was pretty irritating, mostly interstate. My follow up appointments will be back at the Papillon Center, which is in New Hope and is much easier to drive to. And it’s in an adorable community too.

.
I also have to say that everyone at Lower Bucks hospital was extremely nice. I felt very safe and cared for.

I’ll post again with an update once I get the drains out.

~ James

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Clare Flourish
    Jun 22, 2016 @ 15:07:42

    Congratulations. I hope it makes you very happy.

    Reply

Leave a comment